European Super League Announced With 12 Football Clubs, Including Premier League’s ‘Big Six’

The creation of a new European Super League has been officially announced after 12 of football’s biggest clubs confirmed they had formed a new breakaway league.

Reports emerged on Sunday that the Premier League’s ‘big six’ – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham – had all penned letters of intent to join a new competition along with six other footballing giants.

La Liga trio Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid have also signed up, along with Italian clubs Juventus, Inter and AC Milan.

The governing bodies from all three leagues joined up with Uefa to release a statement condemning the proposals and vowing to do everything in their power to block the breakaway, including banning clubs from playing in domestic competitions.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson also criticised the ‘damaging’ plans, saying the UK government would support any sanctions, with the plans sparking outrage from supporters and pundits alike.

But, despite the vitriol that has greeted the proposals, a statement from the 12 clubs in question on Sunday night confirmed that they would be pressing ahead with plans for a new European Super League.

A statement from the newly formed group read: ‘Twelve of Europe’s leading football clubs have today come together to announce they have agreed to establish a new mid-week competition, the Super League, governed by its Founding Clubs.

‘AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur have all joined as Founding Clubs. It is anticipated that a further three clubs will join ahead of the inaugural season, which is intended to commence as soon as practicable.’

According to reports, the European Super League is the brainchild of Real Madrid president Florentino Perez, who will serve as chairman of the new competition.

Liverpool’s John W. Henry, Manchester United’s Joel Glazer and Arsenal owner Stan Kroenke will all be vice-chairmen, as will Juventus chief Andrea Agnelli who had previously been thought to be an ally of Uefa president Aleksander Ceferin.

Stay updated with news from Global Times Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *